People

The director, affiliated faculty, visiting scholarsgraduate students and undergraduate students of the Center research a variety of topics regarding the sociology of religion.

Director

Chris Smith, Director

Dr. Christian Smith

William R. Kenan Professor of Sociology
Principal Investigator for the Science of Generosity initiative

Interests: religion in modernity, adolescents, evangelicalism, culture

Affiliated Faculty

Kraig B

Dr. Kraig Beyerlein

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Interests: religion, social movements, civic engagement, U.S.-Mexico border                             

Kevin C

Dr. Kevin Christiano

Associate Professor of Sociology

Interests: American and Canadian religion, comparative-historical, culture, Canadian politics

Jessica Collett

Dr. Jessica Collett

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Interests: religion, social psychology (group processes, identity, interaction), methods and measurement

Dr

Dr. Edwin Hernández

Research Fellow at the Center for the Study of Latino Religion and Research
Director for the DeVos Family Foundations

Interests: Latino religious experience, theological education, congregational studies, evaluation, education initiatives

donna_freitas

Dr. Donna Freitas

Non - Residential Research Associate 

Interests:  religion, spirituality, young adults, hookup culture, social media, the big questions & meaning-making

Mark Ellen Konieczny

Dr. Mary Ellen Konieczny

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Interests: religion, family life, American democracy                                                                            

nicolette_manglos_


    Dr. Nicolette Manglos-Weber

     Assistant Research Professor

     Interests: religion, immigration, theory, morality, political sociology, Africa and Diaspora, and
     mixed-methods

Atalia Omer

Dr. Atalia Omer

Assistant Professor of Religion, Conflict, and Peace Studies

Interests: religion, nationalism, citizenship, peacebuilding, justice, multiculturalism, ethnoreligious national conflicts

David Sikkink

Dr. David Sikkink

Associate Professor of Sociology
Principal Investigator for the Cardus Religious Schools Initiative                                                                          

Interests: religion, education, civic engagement

Brian Starks

Dr. Brian Starks

Director of Catholic Social and Pastoral Research Initiative

Interests: Catholic identity, values, religion, politics, and methods of research                              

 

Jason Springs

Dr. Jason A. Springs

Assistant Professor of Religion, Ethics, and Peace Studies

Interests: religious pluralism, secularization in Europe & N. America, multiculturalism, postliberal theology, human rights & restorative justice, contemporary pragmatism

erika summers-effler

Dr. Erika Summers-Effler

Associate Professor of Sociology

Interests: religion, social movements, ethnography, qualitatitave methods

tweed_photo


Dr. Thomas Tweed

Professor, Harold and Martha Welch Endowed Chair in American Studies

Andrew Weigert

Dr. Andrew Weigert

Professor of Sociology

Interests: religion, social psychology, theory, environment, modern identity    

Michael Welch

Dr. Michael Welch

Professor of Sociology

Interests: religion, social trust, social capital, crime                                                                            

Visiting Scholars

Ines Jindra

Dr. Ines Jindra

Visiting Scholar

Interests: religious conversion, biographical trajectories, qualitative methods, poverty, homelessness and religion, non-profits 

Michael Jindra

Dr. Michael Jindra

Visiting Scholar

Interests: religion and popular culture, cultural diversity, inequality, religious and cultural change in Africa

Staff

Sara Skiles

Sara Skiles

Project Manager and Researcher, National Study of Youth and Religion

Interests: sociology of culture, stratification, taste and consumption

JP Shortall

JP Shortall

Communications Specialist, Science of Generosity

Interests: communications outreach, literature, writing, classical and international music

Rae Hoffman

Rae Hoffman

Center Program Coordinator

Clare Macy, Part-Time Senior Staff Assistant, Center for the Study of Religion and Society

Clare Macy

Part-time Senior Staff Assistant

Graduate Students

Stephen Armetsarmet@nd.edu

Jade Avelis - javelis@nd.edu

Cole Carnesseca - Cole.N.Carnesecca.1@nd.edu

Ben Chlebounbchlebou@nd.edu

Katie Comeau - Katherine.R.Comeau.7@nd.edu

Shanna Corner - Shanna.M.Corner.4@nd.edu

Bryant Crubaugh - Bryant.J.Crubaugh.1@nd.edu

Hilary Davidson - Hilary.A.Davidson.52@nd.edu

Daniel Escher - descher@nd.edu

Kevin Estep - kestep@nd.edu

Karen Hooge Michalka - khooge@nd.edu

Stefanie Israel - sisrael1@nd.edu

Amy Jonasonajonason@nd.edu

Linda Kawentel - lkawente@nd.edu

Hyunjin Kwak - hkwak@nd.edu

Kelcie Millerkmille38@nd.edu

Peter Mundey - pmundey@nd.edu

Christopher Quiroz - Christopher.S.Quiroz.5@nd.edu

Peter Ryanpryan15@nd.edu

Megan RogersMegan.C.Rogers.107@nd.edu

Ariana Salazar-Newton - anewton3@nd.edu

Brandon Sepulvadobsepulva@nd.edu

Justin VanNessjvanness@nd.edu

Lisa Weaver Swartzlswartz1@nd.edu

Brad Vermurlen - Bradley.J.Vermurlen.1@nd.edu

Meredith Whitnah - Meredith.C.Whitnah.2@nd.edu

Michael Wood - mwood3@nd.edu

 

Full Directory

 

Undergraduate Students

Maura Bailey - mbailey3@nd.edu

Abigail Bartels - abartel12@nd.edu

Prinz Jeremy Dela Cruz - pdelacru@nd.edu

Antonio Marchi - amarchi@nd.edu

Lai Sam - lsam@nd.edu

Full Directory

More about the Undergraduate Fellows

Sign up for our regular email list to receive updates on Center activities at csrsoc@nd.edu