The William V. D'Antonio Award

An award for Graduate Student Excellence in the Sociology of Religion at the University of Notre Dame to honor the scholarly labors, achievements, and promise of the graduate student determined most to merit the award in each year.

D'Anontio Picture

William V. D’Antonio earned a B.A. from Yale University (1948), a Masters Degree from the University of Wisconsin (1953), and a Ph.D. in sociology and anthropology from Michigan State University (1958).

After two years on the faculty of Michigan State, in 1959 he joined the faculty of the University of Notre Dame as Assistant Professor, where he worked until 1971. He served as Professor and Chair of the Department at Notre Dame from 1966-1971.

D’Antonio moved to the University of Connecticut in 1971 as Professor and Chair. In 1982 he took a leave from Connecticut to become the Chief Executive Officer of the American Sociological Association, where he served until his retirement in 1991. He received Emeritus Professor Status from the University of Connecticut in 1986.

In 1993 he joined the sociology faculty of Catholic University as a visiting Research Professor, where he serves as a Fellow at the Life Cycle Institute at Catholic University.

He is the co-author of eight books and co-editor of four others. His most recent co-authored books include American Catholics Today: New Realities of Their Faith and Their Church and Voices of the Faithful: Loyal Catholics Striving for Change. D’Antonio has an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters from St. Michael's College in Vermont, and was a Fulbright Senior Fellow in Italy in 2004.

This Year's Recipient

Shanna Edited









2018 Shanna Corner


Former Recipients

Megan Smaller File







2017 Megan Rogers


2016 Award Winners






2016 Bradley Vermurlen & Karen Hooge Michalka


Kraig And Cole






2015 Cole Carnesecca



2014 Daniel Escher &  Meredith Whitnah



 2013 Hilary Davidson  &  Justin Farrell


D'Antonio winner, Ellen Childs 

2012  Ellen Childs








2011  Brandon Vaidyanathan



2010  Patricia Snell








2009  Bob Brenneman